🕉 Buy 3 And Get 15% Off Your Order! 🕉

Understanding Your Chakras To Live A More Balanced Life

What Are Chakras?

As an energy system that runs throughout your body, the chakras are a connection to the very essence of life itself. Chakra is a Sanskrit word that translates to wheel or disk, and denotes the wheels of energy that run through the body. The chakras are seven separate (yet intrinsically connected) disks of energy that vibrate at different frequencies and connect us to the function of our entire existence.

There are actually hundreds of chakras that can be found within the body, however there are seven major chakras that serve as a basis for our existence. They connect us to the earth as well as the heavens, and serve as a means to balance mind, body, and soul. The seven major chakras begin at the base of the spine below the buttocks at the perineum and run the entire length of your spine through the crown of your head. From base to crown, your chakras inspire connection and balance by drawing in coded energy from you and your surroundings.

Understanding Your Chakra System

In order to understand the intricate energy behind your chakras, it’s important to understand just how this ancient energy system works. Not only do the chakras vibrate at their own energetic frequency, but also take in the health, energy, and vibration of our immediate environments. Understanding your chakras will open you up to a deeper understanding to yourself as well as the world around you. Within your chakras you can discover a deeper connection of energy and a more fulfilling and balanced life.

When we understand why we react to certain things in our environment a certain way and the connection this has on our body, we begin to see the complete interconnectedness of everything. Each chakra holds its own energy, yet works with other chakras to bring balance and connectedness to you and the world around you. When your chakras are balanced and working in harmony, the unbalance you experience in your life disappears.

Balancing your chakras and keeping them healthy will result in an amazing feeling of connected energy. Think about it like this. When your chakras are balanced, your physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual energies all work in congruence together. Being able to understand your chakras and work to maintain their balance can offer you a life that is full of grace, balance, and increased meaning.

The Seven Major Chakras

Learning about your chakras and the role each plays in accordance to the energy you receive and put out, will ultimately lead to a balanced and healthy system that will really help connect you more deeply to who you really are. Chakras work in every area of your life and can offer profound physical, emotional, and spiritual connection.

The seven major chakras are divided within the body between matter and spirit. The first three chakras start at the base of the spine and are physical in makeup. The fourth chakra (which is located at the heart) serves as a connection to the other three chakras that are of a spiritual nature. The fourth chakra serves as a link between the physical and spiritual plane.

Chakra One/Muladhara/Root

Your first chakra is located at the very base of the spine in the perineum. It vibrates to the color red and is considered to be the root to our physical existence. This is the chakra from which all others stem. It is associated with our connection to the physical plane and also to our physical survival. This is the base of our energy system and is what allows us to stay grounded amongst the many different types of energy we experience.

Chakra Two/Swadhisthana/Sacral

The second chakra is located just above the naval. It vibrates to the color orange and is our connection to our own individuality. The second chakra is also closely connected to our relationships with others, our creativity, and sexuality. Your relationship to money and finances is also an integral part of the function of this chakra.

Chakra Three/Manipura/Solar Plexus

The third chakra is located in the area of your sternum and vibrates to the color yellow. This is where you hold your personal power. The third chakra is linked to your own unique self-expression as well as your self-esteem. The third chakra contains the energy of your relationship to yourself and the world around you. This is also the last of the chakras associated with the physical plane before bridging into the heart and up into the chakras connected to your spiritual existence.

Chakra Four/Anahata/Heart

The fourth chakra is located in the center of your chest and vibrates to the color green. This is a chakra of pure love and the one that links physical energy to spirit energy. Without working with the energy of the heart it’s impossible to attain the spiritual energy contained in the upper three chakras. The fourth chakra is associated with love and relationships, as well as painful emotions such as depression and grief. It’s our heart chakra that connects us to feeling, giving, and receiving the love we all deserve.

Chakra Five/Vishuddha/Throat

The fifth chakra is located at the throat and vibrates to the color blue. This chakra is our communication center and is associated with our creativity and how we express ourselves to others and the world around us. It is where we find our personal will and has a lot to do with the choices we make. The fifth chakra is the essence of our self-expression and its energy holds the way in which we communicate with others.

Chakra Six/Ajna/Third Eye

The sixth chakra is located just between the brows and vibrates to the color indigo. The sixth chakra is characteristically known as the “third eye” and is where we begin to see spiritually and start to understand the inherent truth of the universe. The third eye is where we wash away illusion and connect with our own intuition. The sixth chakra is our window to the universe and can help us see more clearly the interconnectedness throughout all of that which exists.

Chakra Seven/Sahaswara/Crown

The seventh chakra is the last of the seven major chakras and is found at the top of our head, connecting us to the entire universe itself. It vibrates as a brilliant purple and is known as our crown chakra. This is our connection to the divine and the infinite possibilities which exist. The seventh chakra is where we find a sense of enlightenment and directly opens us up to everything that is.


Becoming aware of and understanding the chakras is the key to balancing your life. We are truly all in a state that vacillates between balance and imbalance, yet understanding your chakras can help you better identify what needs to be worked on to bring back balance and restore wellbeing. By bringing your energy back to a harmonic state through working with the energy of your chakra system you will find not only more balance, but a deeper understanding of life and your connection to everything it contains.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post, please leave a comment below to let us know how you will be working on bringing back the balance in your life.

Share this post

Leave a comment

Note, comments must be approved before they are published